Commodore's Award Nomination and Ball
Wassail Bowl
75th Anniversary Book
85th Anniversary Publication

Commodore's Award Nomination and Ball

The Annual Commodore's Ball, in addition to being one of the first official social events of the year, is also the opportunity to recognize a PCYC member for their outstanding contribution to PCYC.

Commodore’s Award for Outstanding Contribution

One of the more rewarding aspects of being a part of PCYC is the interaction with our fellow members. As we all know, there are some wonderful people in our Club who volunteer incredible amounts of their time for the benefit of us all. In some cases individual commitments are protracted over long periods and in others it involves a shorter period on a specific project. Others choose to make financial contributions in order to enhance numerous aspects of the Club. Typically these individuals do not look for recognition and, unfortunately, we do not always find the time to recognize their efforts or to simply say thank you on behalf of the entire membership.

With this in mind, our Commodore has decided that we should start a new and exciting tradition at the annual Commodore’s Ball and take that opportunity to thank and recognize the team or individual who has made an outstanding contribution and should be publicly recognized and thanked. The top candidates will be asked to attend the Ball in order to be formally recognized and the winner will be presented with an appropriate plaque and gift.

The Guidelines around this Award will be as follows:

  1. Anyone associated with the Club may submit up to 5 nominations each year.
  2. All nominations are to be received by no later than Monday May 6, 2024. This year the Dinner will be held Saturday May 25, 2024. Menu and details to follow. 
  3. Nominations may be made by completing this online form; Commodore’s Award Nomination Form. Also, you can submit a nomination by emailing the General Manager at or by dropping it off at the Communication Centre.  
  4. Each nomination should include a narrative of not more than 200 words on the reasons why the candidate is being nominated.
  5. No sitting member of the Board is eligible to be nominated.
  6. The Commodore shall have absolute discretion as to the choice of the top nominees and the winner.

Past Winners of the Commodore's Award

2006 Marilea & Ian McAllister
2007  Jane & Paul Messenger
2008  Mark Searle
2009  Susan & Jim Currey
2010 Margaret & John Williams
2011  Robin Ball
2012  Carol & Helmut Trupke
2013 John Weakley
2014  Barb and Dennis Moss
2015 Maureen and Doug Cameron
2016 John Crawley
2017 Margaret and Chris Sullivan
2018 Pat Lymburner and Lyn Townsend
2019 Martin and Rosanne Lomas
2020 Knut and Gerda Buschmann
2021 Rob and Vivienne McVicar
2022 David Collier and Katy O'Rourke